Skip to main content
← Change my selections

Registered Nurse · Licensing Roadmap

New Jersey RN to Florida RN License Requirements

Explore licensing pathways, application requirements, fees, fingerprinting, license verification, and compact considerations.

Last researched

Source-linked, AI-organized research. Confirm your requirements with the licensing board. This guide does not verify your license or determine eligibility.

Likely pathway

Using multistate privileges

If you hold an active multistate RN license, keep your primary residence in its issuing compact state, and retain valid practice privileges.

The available evidence did not confirm current NLC participation for Florida. Do not assume that a multistate license authorizes practice there; confirm with the board.

Source 1 ↗ Source 2 ↗ Source 3 ↗
Holding a single-state license

If your current RN license is single-state only.

Your current single-state license does not itself authorize practice in Florida. Check the applicable Florida licensing pathway.

Source 1 ↗
Moving your primary residence

If you change your primary state of residence to Florida.

Follow the applicable Florida licensing pathway and notify your former home-state board. Confirm how changing primary residence affects any existing multistate license before practicing.

Source 1 ↗ Source 2 ↗ Source 3 ↗
Pathway conditions to check
  • Florida RN Initial License by MOBILE Endorsement

    Must hold an active, unencumbered license issued by another state/DC/territory in a profession with similar scope of practice.

    To determine which option applies: Confirm whether applicant holds an active, unencumbered NJ RN license and whether it is in a profession with similar scope of practice.

    Source 1 ↗
  • Florida RN Initial License by MOBILE Endorsement

    Must have obtained a passing score on a national licensure examination or hold a national certification recognized by the board.

    To determine which option applies: Identify which passing national exam/cert applies (e.g., NCLEX/other) and whether documentation is available/recognized.

    Source 1 ↗
  • Florida RN Initial License by MOBILE Endorsement

    Must have actively practiced at least two years during the four-year period immediately preceding submission (or apply by Examination and transfer passing NCLEX scores if not).

    To determine which option applies: Applicant practice history to verify 2 years in prior 4 years; if not, confirm whether NCLEX score transfer would apply.

    Source 1 ↗ Source 2 ↗
  • Florida RN Initial License by MOBILE Endorsement

    Must not have ever been reported to the National Practitioner Data Bank (unless appealed/removal or excluded conduct exceptions apply by statute).

    To determine which option applies: Whether NPDB report exists and any appeal/removal status.

    Source 1 ↗
  • Florida RN Initial License by MOBILE Endorsement

    Must not be subject of a disciplinary proceeding in any jurisdiction or U.S. Department of Defense for reason related to practice of the profession.

    To determine which option applies: Whether there are any pending disciplinary proceedings related to RN practice in any jurisdiction/DoD.

    Source 1 ↗
  • Florida RN Initial License by MOBILE Endorsement

    Must not have had disciplinary action taken in the five years immediately preceding submission.

    To determine which option applies: Whether any disciplinary action occurred within the last 5 years.

    Source 1 ↗
  • Florida RN Initial License by MOBILE Endorsement

    Health-history “Yes” answers require practitioner documentation dated within one year of the application date.

    To determine which option applies: Whether applicant will answer “Yes” to health-history questions and whether a qualifying practitioner letter can be produced.

    Source 1 ↗
View source

Government fees

For Florida RN Initial License by MOBILE Endorsement, the evidence states: “$110.00 Application and Licensing Fee to Board of Nursing.” It also states “Fee varies for Livescan Service Provider” and “Fee varies for License Verification.” No specific Livescan/verification fee amounts are provided in the supplied official snippets.

Fee breakdown
  • Application and licensing fee (MOBILE Endorsement) — $110.00

    Florida RN Initial License by MOBILE Endorsement

    Source 1 ↗
  • Livescan service provider fee — Amount needs confirmation

    Livescan fingerprinting required for initial licensure

    Source 1 ↗
  • License verification fee — Amount needs confirmation

    License verification requested/sent to Florida

    Source 1 ↗
View source

Processing time

The evidence gives several timeframes for Initial License by MOBILE Endorsement: “Please allow up to 10 business days for initial review of new applications,” “All applications are reviewed for completeness within 30 days,” and “When all requirements are met the license will be issued to qualified within 7 days.” It is not clear in the supplied excerpts how these stages align for a MOBILE Endorsement applicant.

View source

Compact considerations

If you hold an active multistate RN license, keep your primary residence in its issuing compact state, and retain valid practice privileges. The available evidence did not confirm current NLC participation for Florida. Do not assume that a multistate license authorizes practice there; confirm with the board.

View source

Application requirements

For RN Initial License by MOBILE Endorsement, the evidence instructs: request License Verification to be sent to Florida; transfer National Examination scores from NCSBN; apply online at FLHealthSource.gov, pay applicable fees, and upload supplemental documentation; schedule an electronic fingerprint appointment (Livescan) and be printed; after review, deficiencies are communicated in writing; when requirements are met, “the license will be issued… within 7 days.”

Requirements checklist
  • Active, unencumbered out-of-state RN license; similar scope of practice (board/department determination) — Required

    Must hold an active, unencumbered license issued by another state/DC/territory Profession scope similar as determined by board or department

    Source 1 ↗
  • Passing national licensure exam score or recognized national certification — Required

    National exam score or recognized national certification recognized by the board

    Source 1 ↗
  • Two years active practice in prior four-year period (or Examination alternative) — May apply

    Must have actively practiced at least 2 years during the four-year period immediately preceding submission If not 2 years, apply by Examination and transfer passing NCLEX scores from NCSBN

    Source 1 ↗ Source 2 ↗
  • NPDB reporting limitation — May apply

    Must not have ever been reported to the NPDB (unless exceptions apply by statute)

    Source 1 ↗
  • No pending disciplinary proceeding related to the practice — May apply

    Must not be the subject of a disciplinary proceeding related to practice of the profession

    Source 1 ↗
  • No disciplinary action within five years — May apply

    Must not have had disciplinary action taken in the five years immediately preceding submission

    Source 1 ↗
  • Livescan fingerprint submission to FDLE; results returned to Clearinghouse — Required

    Applicants must use Livescan service provider to submit fingerprints to FDLE for Florida and national criminal history search Applicant bears costs

    Source 1 ↗ Source 2 ↗
  • License verification request from previous state board(s) — Required

    Contact state board(s) where a license has been held to request License Verification be sent to Florida

    Source 1 ↗
  • Transfer NCSBN national examination scores — Required

    Transfer National Examination scores from NCSBN

    Source 1 ↗
  • Online application submission, pay applicable fees, upload supplemental documentation — Required

    Apply online at FLHealthSource.gov, pay applicable fees, and upload any supplemental documentation

    Source 1 ↗
  • Health history ‘Yes’ supporting letter; dated within one year — May apply

    If ‘Yes’ to health history questions, provide letter from licensed health care practitioner dated within one year of application date

    Source 1 ↗
  • Criminal/disciplinary affirmative answers: self-explanation + records — May apply

    If criminal history/offenses listed or disciplinary actions pending/disclosed, submit required documentation including self-explanation and final disposition/arrest records Also may require completion of probation/parole/sanctions records and agency letterhead records

    Source 1 ↗ Source 2 ↗
  • Criminal history ‘offenses listed’: letters of recommendation (3–5) — May apply

    Applicants who listed offenses must submit 3–5 professional letters of recommendation

    Source 1 ↗
View source

License verification

The evidence states you must “Contact the state board(s)… to request License Verification be sent to Florida,” and that the applicant schedules electronic fingerprinting via Livescan to submit fingerprints to FDLE; the search results are returned to the Care Provider Background Screening Clearinghouse for licensure consideration. It also states: if the state has an online verification including disciplinary actions, Florida will accept online verification.

View source

Fingerprinting and background checks

For MOBILE Endorsement, the evidence requires Livescan fingerprints for FDLE criminal history search and says results are returned to the Care Provider Background Screening Clearinghouse for consideration. It also lists licensure ineligibility gates: must not have been reported to NPDB, must not be subject to disciplinary proceeding related to practice, and must not have had disciplinary action in the five years immediately preceding submission. If “Yes” for health history questions, submit a practitioner letter dated within one year; if criminal/disciplinary offenses/actions were listed, submit required self-explanation and records (and potentially letters of recommendation).

View 2 sources

Education and transcripts

For RN Initial License by MOBILE Endorsement, the provided evidence emphasizes holding an active, unencumbered out-of-state RN license plus a passing national licensure exam score or recognized national certification and 2-years-in-4-years active practice (or Examination alternative). The provided evidence does not specify an RN “education/proof of graduation/transcripts” requirement for this MOBILE Endorsement pathway in the extracted passages.

View source

Documents to prepare

For MOBILE Endorsement, the evidence references: license verification request from previous state board(s); transfer of National Examination scores from NCSBN; Livescan electronic fingerprints; online application with “upload any supplemental documentation.” It also specifies conditional documents: if health history “Yes,” provide a practitioner letter dated within one year; if criminal/disciplinary history is disclosed, submit “Self-Explanation,” “Final Dispositions/Arrest Records,” “Completion of Probation/Parole/Sanctions,” and agency-related records; it also states applicants may need 3–5 “Letters of Recommendation” if offenses are listed.

View 2 sources

Responsible agency

The evidence identifies Livescan fingerprints submitted for FDLE searching and references Florida’s Board of Nursing processing. It also provides a board mailing address: “Department of Health Board of Nursing 4052 Bald Cypress Way Bin C-02 Tallahassee, FL 32399-3258.” It also notes ORI usage: if you provide an incorrect ORI, “the board office will not receive your fingerprint results.”

View source

Some details in marked sections could not be confirmed. The text explains what remains uncertain; confirm those details with the licensing board before applying.

Details still to confirm
  • Likely pathway

    Evidence provided shows MOBILE Endorsement eligibility requirements but does not provide a complete MOBILE endorsement process/checklist or confirm application-form details for an already-licensed NJ RN applicant beyond what is excerpted.

  • Application requirements

    The evidence includes steps for MOBILE Endorsement (license verification request, NCSBN score transfer, apply online, upload supplemental docs, Livescan) but does not provide the complete numbered checklist/form fields for the specific MOBILE Endorsement application.

  • License verification

    Evidence states license verification must be requested/sent to Florida and that online verification may be accepted; it does not specify exact acceptable verification formats beyond that.

  • Fingerprinting and background checks

    Evidence provides Livescan/FDLE search description and general NPDB/disciplinary ineligibility; it does not provide the full criminal/disciplinary documentation list in full detail for every scenario (only the excerpted set).

  • Education and transcripts

    For RN MOBILE Endorsement, provided excerpts do not specify an RN education/transcript submission requirement. It is not safe to confirm whether education proof is required for this pathway.

  • Government fees

    Evidence provides $110 and indicates Livescan/verification fees vary, but does not provide specific amounts.

  • Processing time

    Evidence contains multiple time statements (10 business days initial review, completeness within 30 days, issuance within 7 days) without clearly defining which stage each corresponds to for MOBILE Endorsement.

  • Compact considerations

    Current destination-state compact participation was not confirmed by the validated evidence. Confirm participation, your license type and primary residence before relying on multistate privileges.

  • Responsible agency

    Evidence includes a mailing address and references ORI and Livescan/FDLE; it does not provide a complete list of all offices/portals for endorsement submissions.

  • Documents to prepare

    Evidence lists several document types conditionally (health history letter; criminal history self-explanation and records; letters of recommendation), but does not provide a complete end-to-end document checklist for MOBILE Endorsement.

Text us